Beneath The Calm

Fil Campbell

It has been said of Fil Campbell that "she has a voice that could melt you while reading the telephone directory". This collection of mostly self penned songs is a departure from Fil's interpretive recordings. Contemporary folk? Judge for yourself.

"With the release of Beneath the Calm, her third album, Fil Campbell steps out of the shadows as a gifted songwriter to add to her reputation as a discerning cover artist. She has come of age with this recording and it will bring repeated pleasure to listeners." Ian Clarke, Downpatrick Folk Club , N. Ireland

"Beneath the Calm" (LMP 008), released in 2002 is the 3rd solo album from Northern Irish singer Fil Campbell and marks her first serious foray into songwriting.

" does she have a pretty and interesting voice."

Fil has a fine lyrical voice and is an entertaining performer as evidenced by audiences at concerts on her frequent tours in Germany, Holland and Britain. Her live set is a mixture of contemporary and traditional songs and she is recording an album of traditional Irish songs of the 40s and 50s.

Beneath the Calm was recorded in Sligo and Dublin with the help of percussionist Tom McFarland (with whom Fil mainly tours), bass player James Blennerhassett and guitarist Bill Shanley. The album features 7 of Fil's original songs, one title from the pen of Mick Hanly and 2 songs from another new Irish writer, Celine Carroll.

For further information check Fil's website at

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10